Yellow Monkey 2?

I received a weird comment on my Earthsea rant. The comment is from someone named “Yellow Monkey”. This person’s URI is yellowmonkey2.com which doesn’t resolve, currently. The text of the message is this:

Thank you! Chinese Apes.

That “Chinese Apes” thing is a link to chineseapesattack2.com. I don’t want to link to anything because it might be spam of some kind… the e-mail address is one of those super-long spammer domains (aa5362fcef81b36d…).

Also, the IP is 205.234.132.50 which resolves to unknown.ord.scnet.net. SCNet seems to be a large-scale broadband provider that seems kinda shady.

What the hell? My only guess is this is the first finger of some shadowy marketing campaign possibly disguised as a game. I enjoy those (anyone out there love bees?) but not if it just confuses me with domains that don’t resolve.

(Since the original www.ilovebees.com seems to no longer be working, here’s a link to a guy who archived most of it)

4 Responses to “Yellow Monkey 2?”

  1. sean Says:

    I’ve been getting similar comment spam. I wonder why they’re posting comments without the obligatory links to everybody’s favorite internet vice providers.

  2. Sam Says:

    I’ve gotten replies from Yellow Monkey on my blog as well. its a spam bot. Just be thankful you don’t get 15 comments a day full of Online Poker spam.

  3. David Says:

    Frickin’ weird. Mostly it’s the usual beastiality stuff.

  4. Mr Boin Says:

    I’ve got the same weird comment on my blog… Wonder what it is… I’m gonna delete it anyway…